Bunnings Māori Touch Nationals

Māori Touch Nationals has been a significant event on the Touch calendar, since its origins in 1998. The event was hosted in Hopuhopu until 2013, before moving to its current home in Rotorua. The tournament provides opportunity for our whānau to represent their hapū, rohe, iwi and takiwā on the touch field. 

A significant part of the Māori Touch Nationals is the Pō Whakangahau on Saturday night. All rohe are able to celebrate their māoritanga by performing their waiata and haka on stage.

Taonga are awarded to each of grade winners at Māori Touch Nationals. Recognition is also given to the best male and female player, referee of the tournament, the best & fairest rohe and rohe of the tournament. 

Māori Touch NZ is pleased to announce an exciting new partnership that will see Bunnings Warehouse support the delivery of our special kaupapa in 2023. 

Registrations for the 2023 Bunnings Māori Touch Nationals have now closed.

2023 Grades:

  • U17 Taitamāhine (U17 Girls)
  • U17 Taitamatāne (U17 Boys)
  • U21 Hanumi (U21 Mixed)
  • Hanumi (Open Mixed)
  • Wāhine (Open Womens)
  • Tāne (Open Mens)
  • Pakeke Tāne Toru-tekau (30 Mens)
  • Pakeke Tāne Whā-tekau (40 Mens)
  • Pakeke Hanumi (Senior Mixed:30 Mens/27 Womens)
  • Pāhake Hanumi (Masters Mixed:40 Mens/35 Womens)

Age grade criteria for 2023 Tournament: 

  • Under 17 grade(s): Born in 2006 or after
  • Under 21 grade(s): Born in 2002 or after
  • 30 Mens and Senior Mixed grade(s): Tāne (30+): Born in 1993 or prior / Wāhine (27+) Born in 1996 or prior
  • 40 Mens and Masters Mixed grade(s): Tāne (40+): Born in 1983 or prior / Wāhine (35+) Born in 1988 or prior

2022 Taonga winners: 

Referee of The Tournament  

Roger Neighbours  

Youth Referee of the Tournament  

Zinzan Deans-Emery  


Taitamatāne (U17 Boys) Champions  


Taitamāhine (U17 Girls) Champions  


Rangatahi Player of the Tournament:  

Taonga donated by George Rogers Whanau & Waitakere Maori Touch.  

#99 Tainui – Libby Kearins Te Whare  

Masters Taonga 

Pakeke Hanumi (Mixed Masters) Champion  


Pakeke Tāne (Mens Masters) Champion  


Open Grade Taonga 

Wāhine (Open Women’s) Champions  


Female Player of the Tournament:   

Taonga donated by the Stone Whanau  

#8 Mataatua – Mererangi Paul  

Hanumi (Open Mixed) Champions  

Waikato Tainui  

Tāne (Open Men’s) Champions  


Male Player of the Tournament:    

Taonga donated by the Ngawati Whanau  

#15 Wairere – Eifion Jones  


Rohe that demonstrates kaupapa on and off the field (must turn up at Pō Whakangahau/positive contribution to the tournament/strong tikanga) 

Ngāti Hine