Māori Touch Nationals

Māori Touch Nationals has been a significant event on the Touch calendar, since its origins in 1998. The event was hosted in Hopuhopu until 2013, before moving to its current home in Rotorua. The tournament provides opportunity for our whānau to represent their hapū, rohe, iwi and takiwā on the touch field. 

A significant part of the Māori Touch Nationals is the Pō Whakangahau on Saturday night. All rohe are able to celebrate their māoritanga by performing their waiata and haka on stage.

Taonga are awarded to each of grade winners at Māori Touch Nationals. Recognition is also given to the best male and female player, referee of the tournament, the best & fairest rohe and rohe of the tournament. Click Here to register your team for 2024 Māori Touch Nationals. 

Tournament Director: Harley Wall 
Contact Information: secretary@maoritouch.co.nz

2024 Grades:

  • U17 Taitamāhine (U17 Girls)
  • U17 Taitamatāne (U17 Boys)
  • U21 Hanumi (U21 Mixed)
  • Hanumi (Open Mixed)
  • Wāhine (Open Womens)
  • Tāne (Open Mens)
  • 30 Tāne (30 Mens)
  • 40 Tāne (40 Mens)
  • Pakeke Hanumi (Senior Mixed:30 Mens/27 Womens)
  • Pāhake Hanumi (Masters Mixed:40 Mens/35 Womens)

Age grade criteria for 2024 Tournament: 

  • Under 17 grade(s): Born in 2007 or after
  • Under 21 grade(s): Born in 2003 or after
  • 30 Mens and Senior Mixed grade(s): Tāne (30+): Born in 1994 or prior / Wāhine (27+) Born in 1997 or prior
  • 40 Mens: Tāne (40+): Born in 1984 or prior

2023 Taonga winners: 


Referee of The Tournament 

Poko Mani

Youth Referee of the Tournament 

Bob Korau


Taitamatāne (U17 Boys) Champions 



Taitamāhine (U17 Girls) Champions 


21 Hanumi (21 Mixed) Champions 

Tauranga Moana

Rangatahi Player of the Tournament: 

Taonga donated by George Rogers Whanau & Waitakere Maori Touch. 

Maxwell Kara (Maniapoto)



Pakeke Hanumi (Senior Mixed) Champion 

Te Raki Paewhenua 

30 Tāne (30 Mens) Champion 

Tamatoa Kirikiriroa 

40 Tāne (40 Mens) Champion 

Tāmaki Makaurau


Wāhine (Open Womens) Champions 


Female Player of the Tournament:  

Taonga donated by the Stone Whanau 

Hylan Potts (Waikato Tainui)

Hanumi (Open Mixed) Champions 


Tāne (Open Mens) Champions 

Ngāti Hine

Male Winner:   

Taonga donated by the Ngawati Whanau 

Sean Law (Ngāti Hine) 


Overall Taonga: the iwi/rohe that demonstrates outstanding contribution to the Māori Touch kaupapa.