2023 Māori Touch NZ AGM: New Trustees & Executive Elected

31 Jul

E ngā iwi o te motu nei, tēnā koutou katoa.

Today we held our hui ā-tau at Te Ao Marama in Rotorua. This hui is our opportunity to review, revise and plan ahead as we continue to grow the kaupapa of Māori Touch NZ. This hui was the first held under the newly adopted amendments to the Trust Deed of the National Māori Touch Trust. The adopted amendments provided clarity around membership, the hui ā-tau, and annual financial reporting requirements. Following nominations from our membership, a vote was held to elect 7 new trustees & a Secretary and Treasurer. The results of this election are as follows:

National Māori Touch Trustees:

  • Finney Davis (Ngā Hau e Whā)
  • Pat Spellman (Ngāti Maru ki Taranaki)
  • Tania David (Waikato)
  • Nathan Soloman (Tūhoe)
  • Manu Soloman (Te Arawa)
  • Te Puia Williams (Tūhoe, Te Arawa, Ngā Puhi)
  • Morgan Maruera (Te Arawa, Mataatua, Ngā Ruahine)
  • Harley Wall (Taranaki) (Secretary-Treasurer)

Finney Davis was elected unanimously to serve as Board Chairperson. We are also excited to continue working with Rotorua Touch Association (RTA) as delivery partners for the 2023 Māori Touch Nationals. Berkie Kapa was re-elected our Referees Director, with Tania David & Renei Ngawati stepping into the role of Co-Tournament Director(s).

Sue Panapa will continue to support these efforts as National Coordinator. We wish to acknowledge outgoing Trustees Terama Winterburn, Sue Panapa, Tui Olliver & Kelly Panapa for their service to our special kaupapa of Māori Touch NZ. We are adamant that doesn’t end here - we know your commitment to Māori Touch will continue. Ngā Mihi whānau. The priority for Māori Touch NZ over the next 12 months includes finalising our strategic plan - which will give context and direction to our aspirations to provide pathways & prosperity for our people, through touch. Me mahitahi tātou hei ora tonu te kaupapa!